Skip to main content

Cover Your Tracks Online

As you explore the internet and view web pages, images or documents, your browser stores a lot of information about your where you've been and what you've seen. This is known as your internet history.

Delete your browsing history

If you don't want other people to see what you have been looking at, you can delete your browsing history after each session using the internet.

You can usually find these options within the 'settings' of your web browsing program, or within Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, you can press CTRL SHIFT DEL to bring up a dialogue box to choose what you want to delete. You should also delete your 'cookies' which are small files showing pages you've visited as well as the 'cache' which is a copy of the page you have visited, sometimes including images.

Empty your recycle bin

If you have downloaded any files whilst on the internet and you don't want to keep them, make sure they are deleted. You should also then empty your 'recycle bin'.

Private browsing

Your browser may feature 'Private Browsing' where the browser will automatically delete your history for you when you close the window. Check the settings on your browser for information on this feature.

Don't use your own computer

It may not be possible to totally delete your browsing history. If you are concerned at any time, you should consider using a seperate computer. This could be one in your local library or internet cafe.

Further information

You can find further information about covering your tracks on the following websites:

Back to top